Community Improvement Council, Inc.

Our Vision

Through staff development, parental involvement, dedication, and collaboration with other agencies, the Community Improvement Council, Inc. will leave no income eligible child/family or child with a disability, unserved, in our community.

Student Enrollment

Eligibility for Head Start is based upon Federal income guidelines and age requirement. Children with disabilities are intergrated into the Head Start program.

Employment Opportunities

CIC is an equal opportunity employer. No positions are available at this time. Please check back at a later date.

Volunteer Opportunities

Would you like to get involved but don’t know how?  Let us show you how easy it can be.  Program volunteers read to children, play educational games, assist with classroom activities, field trips, and various projects.

Community Partnerships

CIC’s success is due in part  to it’s many supporters such as:

  • Averett University
  • Danville City Government
  • Danville Community College
  • Danville Social Service
  • Danville Public School
  • Smart Beginnings
  • Strategic Therapy Associates
  • Womack Foundation
  • And many others

Our Mission

The Community Improvement Council, Inc. Head Start is to provide a flexible comprehensive quality service to income eligible children and children with disabilities in their early stages of development and their families, through training and educational programs which will enhance their fullest potential for reaching future goals.

cic logo fullHalf Height

Head Start Child Development Staffing List, February 2016

ADMINISTRATION:

  • Tara Martin, Executive/Head Start Director, t
  • Theresea Cobbs, Office Manager/Program Monitor, t
  • Nelson Thomas, Custodian/Maintenance, nthomas@cicheadstart.org
  • Roy Garner, Finance/Human Resource Manager, r
  • Catherine Archbold, Finance/Human Resource Assistant, c
  • Taylor Naff, Data Collection and Compliance Manager,

DISABILITY/MENTAL HEALTH:

  • Nathaniel Reynolds, Disability/Mental Health Manager,

 

HEALTH & SAFETY:

  • Rona Parker-Davis, Health & Safety Manager, rparker-davis@cicheadstart.org

 

FAMILY SERVICES:

  • Virginia Coleman, Family Service Manager/Fatherhood Coordinator, n

Family Service Technicians:

  • Sherri Freeman, sfreeman@cicheadstart.org
  • Felicia Stokes, f
  • Amanda Pettiford, apettiford@cicheadstart.org

 

FOOD SERVICE:

  • Sharon Stokes, Food Service Manager, s
  • Frances Gore, Food Service Cook, f
  • Annie Waldren, Food Service Aide, a

 

TRANSPORTATION:

Bus Drivers:

  • Tammy Bradley, t
  • Curtis Hailstock,
  • Sherry Walker,

Bus Monitors:

  • Natasha Bridgett nbridgett@cicheadstart.org
  • Tony Scott, tscott@cicheadstart.org
  • Diane Wood, dwood@cicheadstart.org

 

PAID SUBSTITUTES:

  • Natasha Bridgett
  • Amada Reaves
  • Jimmie Richardson

EDUCATION:

Jion Word, Education Manager,

  • Class 1 – Ms. Frances Carter, Teacher,
    • Ms. Delores Ford, Assistant Teacher,
  • Class 2 – Ms. Jessica Hockett, Teacher, jhockett@Cicheadstart.Org
    • Mrs. Karen Tucker, Assistant Teacher,
  • Class 3 – Mrs. Amanda Barksdale, Teacher,
    •  Mrs. Tameka McMoore, Assistant Teacher,
  • Class 4 -Mrs. Toni Gross, Teacher,
    •  Ms. Cowanda Cobbs, Assistant Teacher,
  • Class 5 – Ms. Kim Kelly, Teacher, kkelly@Cicheadstart.Org
    • Ms. Gracie Howard, Assistant Teacher,
  • Class 6 – Mrs. Jacqueline Hubbard, Teacher,
    • Mrs. Deborah O’quinn, Assistant Teacher,
  • Class 7 – Mrs. Edith Petty, Teacher,  
    • Ms. Janice Wilson, Assistant Teacher,
  • Class 8 – Mrs. Denise Smith, Teacher,
    •  Ms. Arlene Jones, Assistant Teacher,
  • Class 9 – Mrs. Carol McLaughlin, Teacher,
    • Ms. Gloria Pritchett, Assistant Teacher,
  • Class 10 – Ms. Pamela Swanson, Teacher,
    • Mrs. Barbara Gregory, Assistant Teacher,
  • Class 11 – Mrs. Dorita Terry, Teacher,
    • Ms. Amanda Arnn, Assistant Teacher,
  • Class 12 – Mrs. Candace Turner, Teacher,
    • Mrs. Rita Coleman, Assistant Teacher